Archive for July 16th, 2009

Democrats Reject Free Speech on Airways along Party Lines

The Democrat-majority Rules Committee had rejected the ‘Broadcaster Freedom Amendment’ which would have prevented the Federal Communications Commission from reinstating the so-called ‘Fairness Doctrine’ and enacting proposed broadcast localism regulations for the next fiscal year. All Democrats present voted against allowing the amendment to the Financial Services Appropriations Bill, which funds the FCC, on a final vote of 7-4.

Today, Democrats on the Rules Committee said “no” to protect the First Amendment and broadcasters’ rights.  The Amendment would have kept broadcast radio free from government censorship through the next fiscal year.


Democrat Members of the Rules Committee who are cosponsors of the Broadcaster Freedom Act are Congressman Michael Arcuri (NY) and Congressman Jared Polis (CO).

Democrat Members of the Rules Committee who previously voted for the Pence Amendment in 2007 were Congressman Dennis Cardoza (CA), Congressman Ed Perlmutter (CO) and Congressman Alcee Hastings (FL).


Sometimes it’s a simple, symbolic moment that will cause an epiphany and bring clarity.


















“If there is ever a fascist takeover in America, it will come not in the form of storm troopers kicking down doors but with lawyers and social workers saying. “I’m from the government and I’m here to help.”
— Jonah Goldberg; Liberal Fascism

Read Full Post »